Creepy Crawlies-easy craft for kids

Teaching first and second grade for 25+ years taught me a few things. When I was a young lady little girl brat sister I lived on a farm, and my room was just above the outside water spout. And, well, you know the song. Every spider on the farm seemed to come up the water spout and into my room. Now, I was scared mortified of spiders and would scream for my brothers to come in and kill them immediately! Fortunately, after developing and teaching spider unit after spider unit in October of every year for 25+ years, I learned that spiders are usually very helpful and there are few poisonous spiders in our area. Whew! Because this is what I found in our garage last week.

Image

My brothers are hundreds of miles away, now, and I really wanted to prove a point to my husband who says he sprays and we have no spiders in our garage. I also wanted to practice what I preach teach and not kill the helpful arachnid, so I grabbed a container and captured that huge, scary, thing. He lost a leg in the process, but then I remembered that spiders can just grow a new one…no surgery required. Well, that brings me to the point of this ramble (post.) Uh-huh…you thought I had forgotten.

Here are directions for the easiest Halloween fall authentic learning display ever!

Image

For each child you will need:

5 inch circle of black construction paper

3 inch circle of black construction paper

8 black construction paper rectangles   ½ inch by 8 inches

Scissors

Glue

It helps to pre-cut (have volunteers slave over) the circles and rectangles. Hand out both circles and demonstrate how to fold in half and again in half to determine the center line of each circle.

ImageImage

Have students unfold each circle and cut to the center along one of the fold lines on each circle.

Next, show students how to make a slight cone shape by sliding one edge of the cut circle under the adjacent edge and gluing it down. This is a good time to sing the Eensie Weensie Spider song  while holding the glued sides together while they dry.

Image

This is also a perfect time to review spider facts. Spiders have only two body parts instead of the three that insects have. The age of your students will determine if you want to call the larger circle a chest and abdomen or a cephalothorax.

Now, for the legs; should there be six like an insect? Of course not. Spiders have eight legs. Students may choose to fold each leg accordion style, but I prefer the more realistic scarier kind made by a few simple bends.

Image

Oops! Do not do this. The legs should all be attached behind the head. Direct students to turn the spider on its back and glue 4 legs to each side of the head.

These spiders look great attached to some monofilament fishing line hanging from the classroom ceiling or on a blue bulletin board background with white paint webs. But they look SPOOKTACULAR when stuck to fake spider web from your local craft store that has been draped in the corners of the classroom.

Image

Add the eyes or other spider parts if you want. Kind of looks like the creepy spider from my garage, no?

Leave a Reply

