Child’s Play-trash to treasure

I sometimes fall in love with junk. I found this in the woods below our house, and I like love it. All the rust, the shape, the possible history, well, I can’t wait to show you what I’m doing with it after I find my wire cutters.

In the meantime, I have been working on a little table I bought at a garage sale. I didn’t fall in love with it right away. In fact, I just thought it might be a cute little coffee table. There was no price on it. Did I tell you how much I hate it when people do not price their items at a garage sale? I usually just walk away, but this time, I asked and got way more than I bargained for. The lady was nearly in tears as she told me her husband had lost his job here but found another on an oil rig in Texas. They were selling all but the very basics that would fit in the travel trailer they would call home. The table had been in her family since she was a child, and her children and grandchildren had played on it for the last 35 years. She would take $5.00 for it. She had me at “when I was a child.” We loaded crammed it into my little Solara convertible and it was mine

Now, I eyed it with a new appreciation as I stripped the memories off the top. I knew I wanted it to remain a child’s table; one that children could continue to enjoy for years to come. Then it hit me!

A good coat of Zinser Bull’s Eye Primer encouraged me to leave a few distressed areas. I coated it a layer of antique white enamel paint, sanded the edges of the table lightly when dried, and was prepared to put a Minwax finish on it when it screamed at me. “You’re no fun!” I wanted to be fun, so I let it sit for a day or two while I pinned and repinned 2,000 things to my Pinterest boards. Well, you can’t leave your Pinterest site without being inspired about something. I immediately went to Lowe’s and bought a can of chalkboard paint. I masked off some sort of a semblance of an inner circle and painted on the black paint. Now, this was getting funner. Another coat of chalkboard paint, a waiting period of 3 days, a “seasoning” with a coat of chalk, and it is ready for some fun, fun, fun! If I had some little grandchildren, I’d have a good excuse to keep it and play on it myself. 25 years of writing on chalkboards is a hard addiction to overcome. Since my granddaughter is 16, I guess this will have to go to my flea market booth. Hope someone with lots of grand kids will buy it.

By the way, I took it to the flea market and it sold the second day! Yay!

Leave a Reply

