Did I tell you …

Did I tell you that I dislike hate abhor hot weather? Here in Southwest Missouri, we have had record temperatures for weeks. The grass crunches under foot like August, and it is only early July. Leaves would be weeping if they could gather up the tears. A short jaunt to the garden or out to water plants calls for another shower and shampoo. The only thing that glistens on me is newly applied sunscreen, and that only lasts a few minutes; I sweat.

Sporting events, camping trips, shopping…all are cast aside as I babysit my air-conditioner and a glass of iced tea. Pinterest, take me away! I’ve started a new board called Fall Follies. I’m already in the planning stages of a fall vacation and a fall bonfire. Dreaming of star filled nights, smoke filled air, and s’more filled mouths. So this reminded me of last years neighborhood gathering, and I thought I’d share the pictures and ideas with you. And since I’m a flea market junkie, I’ll show you how I put this together on the cheap!

Image

We are blessed to have this beautiful valley below our house and even more fortunate to have wonderful neighbors to share it with.

I happened to have two vintage doors that I was getting ready for my flea market booth. Saint loaded them and the saw horses up in the old ancient truck we use to roam around our acreage. Presto-chango! Our fall table base. I had saved rescued a slab of bark from a dying elm tree, which served as a great table runner. It added just the right amount of texture and cost absolutely nothing. I gathered up some of the fall things I had picked up at garage sales and other flea markets and started putting things together.

Image

A little leftover orange lace, some burlap, and a few Halloweenish accessories dressed the table nicely. Notice how I repurposed a teak wood corn on the cob set into a S’mores station?

All the baskets are flea market finds, as well as the vintage bowl that holds the beverages; recycled water bottles filled with pond water (chocolate milk) and swamp water (limeade) labeled with free printables. Gummy creatures added.

Image

The puking pumpkin idea was from Pinterest, and I will share the dip recipe that I used at the end of this post. It was a big hit. We kept the menu simple: Hot dogs to roast, chips, mini chili bread bowls, individual Snickers cheesecakes, S’mores, popcorn and candy.

The most wonderful part of the evening was watching the eyes of our little guests when they saw the bonfire Saint built. “Big fire!” This little one declared.

Image

Image

I can’t wait until this heat gives way to crisp evenings with falling leaves and pumpkins. For now, I’ll have to be content to start planning this year’s fall bonfire and be thankful for my air conditioner and iced tea!

Image

Puking Pumpkin Dip (AKA Bacon Cheddar Dip)

Cheddar Bacon Dip 16 oz sour cream 1 packet Ranch dressing mix 3 oz bacon bits (in the bag not jar) 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese Mix together and refrigerate 24 hours. Serve with chips and/or veggies.

Enjoy, and stay cool!

Leave a Reply

