Another “piece of cake” recipe

If I had followers, at this point, I would apologize because I promised the reveal of the ugly door project, and I have not posted it. It is coming, I promise. In fact, I have two surprises instead of just one. Until then, I made another easy recipe I thought I’d share because, well, I practically deleted my entire blog changing one letter that I printed wrong in the URL address. It is randoM, not randoN, and now all the things I pinned to Pinterest won’t link back here. So, suffice it to say, I need the practice. Posting and publishing, that is. So here goes.

This recipe is not quite as easy as the Lime pie, but almost. I needed to make a dessert for our Saturday night card game…a weekly tradition established years ago with our best friends and neighbors. It needed to be something quick and easy that I could make from ingredients on hand because I was covered with paint from the ugly door project. I thought I’d make a cherry dump cake, but I didn’t have crushed pineapple and didn’t think fresh would work so well. I searched my Pinterest board for something and found some Peachy Keen bars from Just a Pinch, but I didn’t have a can of peaches. I decided to combine the two ideas and see what came out. I’m lazy creative resourceful, like that. I don’t know what to call it, but the ingredients I used are:

sugar free white cake mix

no sugar added Wilderness Cherry Pie Filling

2 eggs (one for the mix and one for the filling)

1/3 cup Splenda

1/3 cup butter-softened

8 oz cream cheese-softened

1 tsp burnt sugar flavoring (almond would work equally well if you don’t have the other)

1/3 cup sliced almonds

Image

Preheat oven to 350 and spray a baking dish with butter flavored spray and set aside. I used a slightly smaller than 9×13 and that worked very well.

Mix the cake mix, softened butter, and one egg until crumbly. Set aside 1 1/4 cups. Press the remainder of the mixture in the bottom of baking dish and bake for 10 minutes.

Image

In the meantime, Mix the cream cheese, Splenda, and flavoring until creamy. Remove the “crust” from the oven and spread a can of cherry pie filling across it. (It does not have to cool first.) Then spread the cream cheese mixture on top of that. Crumble the remaining cake mix mixture over this and sprinkle the almonds on top.

Image

Return to oven and finish baking for 30 minutes.

This is really good served warm with ice cream. I wish I had toasted my almonds before adding them as they did not get as smoky and crunchy as I like. Other than that, It came out great and I think I will call it Cherry Almond Delight.

Image

Image

 

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

