Candy Bar Truffles

This is my own original recipe. I just made it up today. You see, I am really trying to get into the Christmas spirit, this year. It finally turned cold. Very cold. But that didn’t help. I finalized some sort of a plan for our celebration on the weekend before Christmas, but it still doesn’t feel like Christmas. I can’t get motivated to shop. Yikes! I have less than two weeks, and I have a winter cold. In a panic, I thought the only thing I can do inside, today, is cook. I made muffins, scones, and Biscotti for our Christmas breakfast and put them in the freezer. I’m a make ahead kind of cook. So, I thought maybe a little candy making would put me in a more festive mood.

Truffles are such an easy thing to do, and there are so many variations that I decided to throw together some of my favorite ingredients to come up with my recipe. I used cream cheese, of course. I can hardly make anything without that. Then I added some brown sugar, some powdered sugar, and some graham cracker crumbs. Next, the magic ingredient…Butterfingers!

I could have used the food processor, but I would have had to clean it up, afterward. Zip lock baggies and a wooden rolling pin worked just fine.

ImageImage

I mixed them all together and rolled them into little balls.

ImageImage

I put the balls on parchment paper and placed them in the freezer for awhile. In the meantime, I melted 10 oz of dark semi-sweet baking chocolate with about 1/4 teaspoon of Crisco in the microwave. I melted in 40 second intervals, stirring between times. I removed the candy balls from the freezer, few at a time and dipped them in the chocolate.

Image

I sprinkled a few tiny crystals of sea salt over them.

Image

One amazing thing about this recipe is that, for once in my life, the coating chocolate came out exactly right.

ImageImage

You know how, sometimes, the milk and the Oreos don’t come out even, and you keep having to go back and get more. This was great, because, what do you do with that leftover chocolate? Usually, it just gets pitched at our house, but here’s a link to an idea of what to do if yours doesn’t come out even.http://media-cache5.pinterest.com/upload/150307706283009363_SiJPxwee_f.jpg

And here’s another helpful hint. Instead of putting the bowl in the sink and filling it with water, wipe it out with a paper towel, first. Most of the oily chocolate will come off on the towel and you can rinse the bowl out easily without the mess in your sink and drain. Oh, if you’re a bowl licker, that problem solves itself, doesn’t it?

Image

Here is the finished product after I refrigerated for an hour or so, I put them in this pretty vintage milk glass candy dish and tied it up with some pretty ribbon and greenery.

Image

These turned out very yummy, I don’t think I would change a thing. I’ll freeze them and share them with the family. And, no, I’m not out of the Grinch woods, yet. Any suggestions?

Candy Bar Truffles

8 oz. cream cheese, softened

1 cup Graham cracker crumbs

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup powdered sugar

10 oz. pkg Butterfinger Bites (crushed)

10 oz. dark, semi sweet chocolate

1/4 tsp. shortening

Sea salt (optional)

Mix first 5 ingredients. Form balls and place on parchment paper to freeze for at least an hour. Melt chocolate and shortening in microwave. Dip frozen candy balls into chocolate and return to parchement paper. Refrigerate until chocolate covering hardens. May be frozen for a few weeks. Remove at least 15 mins. before serving.

If, by some ridiculous weirdness, you don’t like Butterfingers, I’m sure you could substitute malted milk balls, Snickers, Paydays, etc.

If you have any brilliant ideas for the leftover chocolate, feel free to comment.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

