Sugar free, gluten free peanut butter cookies

DSC00075
If they look like peanut butter cookies and they taste like peanut butter cookies, then they must be peanut butter cookies. But no flour? Surely, you jest. Nope! This is a recipe I saw on an old Paula Dean show…even before she was diagnosed with diabetes. She made them for a friend who had to limit sugar intake, and they are so simple your five year old could make them. Three ingredients. Yes, I said three ingredients:
DSC00064
1 cup peanut butter
1 cup Splenda
1 egg
Just mix them with a fork, scoop out a walnut sized ball and roll it around in your hands to smooth it out.DSC00066
Paula used a fork dipped in Splenda to criss-cross them, but I find the taste of the Splenda on top is a bit bitter. Since you are only using it to coat the fork, you are adding only a pinch of it, so I prefer sugar. That might add 2 calories and 1/4 of a carb, but to me, it’s worth it.
DSC00067DSC00068
Now, they are ready for the oven. 350 degrees for 10 to 12 minutes. I highly recommend using parchment paper for all cookies, but for these, especially. They lift right off. Otherwise, they tend to crumble. You can slide cookies, parchment paper and all onto the cooling surface or rack.
DSC00075
And there you have it. Would I prefer the original recipe my step mother-in-law gave me years ago loaded with sugar and flour? Sure, but if you are restricting carbohydrates, this is one of the few “sweet treats” you can enjoy, and, trust me, after a few weeks without anything sweet, you will love, love, love them!

One thought on “Sugar free, gluten free peanut butter cookies

  1. I made this same recipe with sugar years ago when my kids were little and I thought it was amazing–I haven’t tried the splenda version but, since I struggle with the scale all the time, it might be time.

Leave a Reply

