DIY Summer into Fall Wreath Update

I picked up this grapevine wreath for a couple of bucks at a garage sale this weekend. I thought it would be perfect for a summer to fall makeover that would add some curb appeal to our son’s house. He and his new bride have three houses right now…his, hers, and theirs. So, we have been busily getting two of them ready for market by Labor Day weekend.

DSC00172

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I planned to remove the greenery, but since I wanted a summer into fall wreath, I decided to leave the summer element and just add some autumn touches.

 

 

 

 

 

DSC00173

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is the junk collection of materials I already had…burlap, of course, leaves, sunflowers, fabric strips, twine, and wired basket weave ribbon.

I made three twine flowers (the tutorial for that is in an earlier post from Christmas) and started tucking leaves here and there. I didn’t glue anything until I played with the placement of the leaves and sunflowers on one side of the wreath.

Next, I made a bow with the wired ribbon and a touch of burlap. I like the bow at the bottom. But that leaves one side practically naked bare. I love the look of the wreaths that have knotted fabric strips all around, so I decided to try adding a few strips of neutral fabrics to the blank spaces.

DSC00176

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nice…but I wanted it to be a bit more welcoming.

How about a WELCOME bunting? Out of burlap?

Of course!

DSC00178

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I took it right over and hung it on the door. I think it will work with the other things I have in mind for the porch. For now.

DSC00181

One thought on “DIY Summer into Fall Wreath Update

  1. Pingback: DIY Sunflower Wreath | momeefriendsli

Leave a Reply

