Please Be Seated

I’m dreaming of a beautiful tablescape for Christmas brunch. I lust spend hours looking at and pinning gorgeous settings on my Pinterest boards. When I try to create them, I fall short. When I try to capture even that shortness on camera, I completely fail. That never stops me from trying.

Remember those wooden discs I left from last post? No? Well, let me refresh your memory.

DSC00040I couldn’t let them go to waste after Saint so carefully cut them, and I sanded and clear-coated them. But when I went back to look at my inspiration picture at this blog:http://redheadcandecorate.com/4/post/2014/11/mini-tree-stump-christmas-place-card-holders.html

I realized my wooden circles were much larger than the ones I wanted to recreate. I also knew I wanted to use what I had on hand rather than adding to my chaos stash of Christmas decor. I loved the small jewel toned ornaments that The Red Head used, but I had only clear, burgundy, and gold. And, what I did have was crinoline. I love that stuff! There’s just something so romantic and feminine about it, agree?

DSC00062I also had a whole woods full of nature. So, I went gathering the naturals: boxwood, cedar, bark, twigs and sticks. Then I got my supplies and trusty hot glue gun. Just when I thought I had all that iridescent snow cleaned up, I grabbed it and started sticking it onto those wooden discs.

DSC00063

I started with the clear ornaments which I wrapped in crinoline and tied with shiny pink or white ribbon. I used a bit of the naturals plus odds and ends I had in my craft bag. When I had hot glued the ornament to the disc and added greenery, etc, I cut some black tag board rectangles for the names. My intent was to use a chalk pen so it would be erasable. Silly me. The chalk pen didn’t show up well enough, besides, who wants to store and reuse black paper rectangles? A metallic pen worked much better.

DSC00065

I had six clear ornaments, which I wrapped in crinoline. One table will only seat six people. The other six mixed ornaments needed to be cohesive in some way. I’m not into the matchy-matchy, but I did want them to look like they belonged together…like family, you know. The naturals I had gathered worked in doing just that. Here are a few of them.

DSC00064DSC00068

DSC00073DSC00076

And here’s what they look like all set up and ready for breakfast.

DSC00077

DSC00079

I know what you’re thinking…this girl really needs a new camera, and it’s probably true. But then I would need a tutor. You know, If You Give a Girl a Camera, she’s gonna want to take some pictures. And when she turns on the camera, she’s gonna need someone to show her how to use it. I’m thinking a photography class might be a good first step.

So what I lack in photography skills, I make up for in cre I still lack in photography skills. Never let it be said that I am not persistent, though. Or conservative. Just look at the Christmas tags I made from the leftover sticks and twigs.

DSC00083

I’m not giving up on making the cute ones I linked you to…just not this year.

8 thoughts on “Please Be Seated

  1. I like your creation a thousand times better than the “redhead” one.  Soooooooooooooo cute!   From: Thymeless Sage and Random Rants To: msglendaa@yahoo.com Sent: Sunday, December 21, 2014 4:45 PM Subject: [New post] Please Be Seated #yiv7683763739 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv7683763739 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv7683763739 a.yiv7683763739primaryactionlink:link, #yiv7683763739 a.yiv7683763739primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv7683763739 a.yiv7683763739primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv7683763739 a.yiv7683763739primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv7683763739 WordPress.com | thymelesssageandrandomrants posted: “I’m dreaming of a beautiful tablescape for Christmas brunch. I lust spend hours looking at and pinning gorgeous settings on my Pinterest boards. When I try to create them, I fall short. When I try to capture even that shortness on camera, I completely fai” | |

    • Why, thank you! The tablecloth was one I purchased at Famous Barr many years ago. I do have a hand-made one, but it is a small round one that my mother-in-law made for us, and she’s been gone for about 40 years. I would love to have a runner made out of a combination of some of the doilies made by relatives.

  2. I forgot to ask…who made your tablecloth? From: Thymeless Sage and Random Rants To: msglendaa@yahoo.com Sent: Sunday, December 21, 2014 4:45 PM Subject: [New post] Please Be Seated #yiv7683763739 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv7683763739 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv7683763739 a.yiv7683763739primaryactionlink:link, #yiv7683763739 a.yiv7683763739primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv7683763739 a.yiv7683763739primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv7683763739 a.yiv7683763739primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv7683763739 WordPress.com | thymelesssageandrandomrants posted: “I’m dreaming of a beautiful tablescape for Christmas brunch. I lust spend hours looking at and pinning gorgeous settings on my Pinterest boards. When I try to create them, I fall short. When I try to capture even that shortness on camera, I completely fai” | |

Leave a Reply

